HAWKEN servers are up and our April Update is live!
Forgot Password? SUPPORT REDEEM CODE

Noobs and EMP

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 zerj

zerj

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted January 23 2013 - 11:40 AM

The in-game discussion of EMPs has started to get a little annoying.

Now I fully admit I am a bit of a noob.   I tend to charge into things to fast and either die horribly or somehow kill everybody there.  My K/D regularly swings between 6/1 and 1/6.  However what doesn't make me a noob is the weapons I choose to use.   I admittedly switch between different offensive weapons including the EMP.  Stuns are in a large percentage FPS/MMO games being played.  Certainly it is annoying to get shut down mid fight,  however that is sort of the point.  My goal is to kill you.  I imagine it is a real issue for those in C-Class Mechs that can't get out of the way.  However the complaints against EMPs should really be directed at the developers not your opponent.  

You know what I think makes someone really seem like a noob? Complaining about the weapons your opponent is using.  Everybody has access to the same line of equipment, if you thing something is overpowered it's really your job to be using it yourself, or figuring out a way to counter it.  If something is just annoying that is the fault of the game not the opponent.  

This essay is quite dated but still seems to apply to most games: Playing to Win

#2 mantisftw

mantisftw

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • LocationMelbourne, FL

Posted January 23 2013 - 11:46 AM